~ What is the Root Chakra ~

Muladhara, otherwise known as the Root Chakra, is the foundation of our physical bodies. The name Muladhara finds its origins in the Sanskrit language, meaning "root", "base" or "support".

Muladhara or Root Chakra is our first of the 7 main chakra's, and as the name suggests it is located at our root, or base of the spine. The location of Muladhara at the base of the spine signifies the connection between our physical bodies and our inner energy fields.

Body Areas: Eliminatory System, Base of Body, Legs, Feet

Endocrine Gland: Adrenal

~ Characteristics of Muladhara ~

Element: Muladhara is founded in the element of earth. I like to think of your root chakra like the roots of a tree. With strong roots, you’ll remain stable, firm, and supported, no matter which way or how strong the wind blows.

And that’s truly what your root chakra does for you; with an open and balanced root chakra, you’ll remain grounded, centered, and calm, no matter what’s going on in your external world.

Balanced Root Chakra: Grounded, Safe, Connects us to our physical world, Daily tasks seem effortless, No doubt about your place in this world

Overactive Chakra: You may experience anger, annoyance, aggression, Have rigid boundaries, find it difficult to accept change, experience greed, controlling of others, worry about money, materialistic

Underactive Chakra: You may feel disorganised, have a lack of focus & discipline, lack of desire to do or want anything out of life.

Colour: The root chakra is associated with the colours of the earth, Red (predominately), Black and Brown. When choosing your crystals to help balance and support your root chakra, you can't go wrong with any Red, Black or Brown stones.

Essential Oils: Vetiver, Patchouli, Myrrh, Sandalwood, Our Meditation essential oil blend

Crystals: Smoky Quartz, Red Jasper, Obsidian, Black TourmalineShungite

Any affirmations that begin with the words I AM ground you in your root chakra 

Symbol: This beautiful chakra is ground with the symbol of a 4 petal lotus. You'll notice in the middle of the lotus flower is a square & triangle facing down rooting you in the earth. I love to meditate with this symbol, to imagine I am rooted in the centre of the 4 petals, the centre of the square. Each of the 4 petals representing North (Home, Earth), East (Air, New Beginnings, Rising Sun), South (Fire, Transformation, What needs to release) & West (Water, Letting go, Flow, Setting Sun)

Join me in this guided meditation where we embody the Root Chakra Symbol, where we wrap ourselves in the 4 petaled lotus connecting to the Earth, and also all other elements.

And if you love this meditation and would love to join our free 7 week chakra journey, see the link below.

~ Muladhara Self-Care Rituals ~

PRACTICE EARTHING: Earthing is the practice of walking on the grass or earth for the purpose on grounding, breathing and reconnecting with this present moment, the only moment that truly matters. As shown in the image above, I love to do this with a warm tea as I awaken each morning, coming home to myself and nature. The root chakra is associated with the element of the EARTH so walking, sitting or being in nature is such a beautiful way to balance this chakra.

MEDITATION: Meditation is a powerful practice for healing all of your chakras, but there’s something especially powerful when it comes to root chakra healing. Meditating is simply the act of mindful breathing, of finding a quiet spot to be and to breathe and to arrive home, here, grounded, present, in this moment.

I love to meditate in the morning because it allows you to get grounded, centered, and stable as you start your day. Use meditation to connect with your foundation and to breathe calm, strength, and peace into every cell of your body.

And if you're saying to yourself as you read this..... I don't have time to meditate, I promise you, as you expand in your meditation practice (i.e. give it a go every day for 3 weeks), you will see your time expand, meditation brings clarity, overtime it will prevent you from running around like a headless chook, meditation brings grounding and presence, overtime it will give you the tools, the power to have less overwhelm and anxiety, and you will truly experience having more time in your day.

GROUNDING AFFIRMATIONS: The use of affirmations can be a powerful healing practice that supports your total well-being, and when used right can bring so much high vibe energy into your day. For root chakra healing, focus on affirmations specifically dedicated to helping you feel grounded, stable, secure, calm, strong, peaceful, and centered.

You can repeat your affirmations at anytime, as you wake up in the morning, in your journal, any time you need to re-ground and re-frame a moment of overwhelm, and during meditation (I love to use my mala and repeat the same affirmation 108 times as I flow through my meditation practice - this affirms your statement in every cell of your being). Here are some we love

  • I am grounded.

  • I am here, rooted, in this present moment.

  • I am safe.

  • I am strong.

  • I am supported with all I need to feel safe, strong and grounded.

  • I am peaceful.

Aromatherapy: Sense of smell and using pure plant based essential oils can be beautiful balance to your internal energy. Scent has the ability to both soothe and revitalise and the oils we love to use also flow deep into therapeutically healing the entire energetic being. For root chakra healing, use earth-scented essential oils, such as Vetiver, Patchouli, Myrrh, Sandalwood and our Meditation essential oil blend.

If you have loved this and would like to receive 7 weekly emails with free guided meditations on each chakra, journal workbooks and more, click the link HERE.

With so much love, happiness & healing
Renee xx


This product has been added to your cart